Bennetts BSB Race 2: Sykes does the Donington double

Bennetts BSB Race 2: Sykes does the Donington double

02 October 2022

02 October 2022

Tom Sykes proved to be unstoppable in the Bennetts British Superbike Championship at Donington Park this afternoon, snatching the race two win from standings leader Bradley Ray to celebrate a second victory for the MCE Ducati team.

Sykes didn't get the best start from the front row of the grid and Ray led the pack through Redgate for the first time. Leon Haslam had his hopes of home success cut short as the 2018 champion crashed out on the opening lap.

Sykes wrestled his way back into contention, holding second with a move at the Melbourne Hairpin on Andrew Irwin and then had Ray in his sights.

The MCE Ducati rider then made a decisive move at Redgate on the start of lap three to return to the front and then delivered a textbook performance to secure his second win of the weekend.

Ray returned to the podium in second place, extending his advantage at the top of the standings, but behind Glenn Irwin had charged up the order to claim the final podium position for Honda Racing UK. The third place moved him up ahead of Lee Jackson in the standings by three points ahead of race three.

Andrew Irwin had earlier been scrapping with his brother but he was able to hold off the next group of contenders with a fourth place for SYNETIQ BMW.

Lee Jackson was fifth for the Cheshire Mouldings FS-3 Racing Kawasaki after a final tussle at Goddards on the last lap to keep Tommy Bridewell and Jason O'Halloran behind him, as the Title Fighters diced for the crucial points.

Peter Hickman had been in the battle for the top five earlier in the race on the FHO Racing BMW but faded to eighth place in the closing stages with Josh Brookes and Ryan Vickers completing the top ten.

Bennetts British Superbike Championship, Donington Park GP, race two result:

  1. Tom Sykes (MCE Ducati)
  2. Bradley Ray (Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha) +1.435s
  3. Glenn Irwin (Honda Racing UK) +4.424s
  4. Andrew Irwin (SYNETIQ BMW) +8.053s
  5. Lee Jackson (Cheshire Mouldings FS-3 Kawasaki) +8.875s
  6. Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Products Racing Ducati) +8.930s
  7. Jason O'Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) +9.062s
  8. Peter Hickman (FHO Racing BMW) +9.939s
  9. Josh Brookes (MCE Ducati) +15.705s
  10. Ryan Vickers (FHO Racing BMW with Attis Sports) +15.878s

For the full race result please click  here

Bennetts British Superbike Championship standings:

  1. Bradley Ray (Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha) 1146
  2. Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Racing Products Ducati) 1091
  3. Glenn Irwin (Honda Racing UK) 1089
  4. Lee Jackson (Cheshire Mouldings FS-3 Kawasaki) 1086
  5. Jason O'Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) 1077
  6. Kyle Ryde (Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha) 1041
  7. Tarran Mackenzie (McAMS Yamaha) 1031
  8. Rory Skinner (Cheshire Mouldings FS-3 Kawasaki) 1017

For the full standings please click  here