Granfors leads the way in Brands Hatch GB3 testing

Granfors leads the way in Brands Hatch GB3 testing

30 August 2022

30 August 2022

GB3 Championship leader Joel Granfors set the fastest time in testing at Brands Hatch today (Tuesday), as the majority of this year's drivers sampled the full Grand Prix circuit ahead of the penultimate race event of the year on 10/11 September.

The Fortec driver's best time of 1m18.966s was 1.3 seconds faster than last year's pole position time, and just under a quarter of a second faster than Douglas Motorsport's Max Esterson. Both Granfors and Esterson set their best times of the day inside the final 30-minute session.

Granfors' immediate title rival Luke Browning topped the first two sessions of the day for Hitech GP, with his best effort coming in session two, putting him just under half a second away from the Swede.

Matthew Rees was fourth quickest for JHR, just over a tenth off Browning and 0.079s ahead of Chris Dittmann Racing's McKenzy Cresswell, while new teammate Zak Taylor showed improved form to go sixth, just 0.005s further back.

Arden's Nico Christodoulou on his first visit to Brands Hatch showed strong pace in the morning and was seventh overall courtesy of his session two time, 0.041s away from Taylor and a tenth of a second clear of the lead Carlin car of Javier Sagrera in eighth.

Sagrera headed teammates Roberto Faria and Callum Voisin, with the trio covered by just 0.067s. The top-10 were separated by 0.888 seconds, with the lead 12 drivers within a second of Granfors' overall best.

A total of 20 drivers were in action in the test, with full times shown below. The field returns to action at Brands Hatch on Friday 9 September ahead of the seventh race weekend of the season.

GB3 Championship, Brands Hatch GP test result:
1. Joel Granfors, Fortec Motorsport, 1m18.966s (session four)
2. Max Esterson, Douglas Motorsport, +0.241s (session four)
3. Luke Browning, Hitech GP, +0.475s (session two)
4. Matthew Rees, JHR Developments, +0.577s (session four)
5. McKenzy Cresswell, Chris Dittmann Racing, +0.656s (session four)
6. Zak Taylor, Chris Dittmann Racing, +0.661s (session four)
7. Nico Christodoulou, Arden Motorsport, +0.702s (session two)
8. Javier Sagrera, Carlin, +0.821s (session four)
9. Roberto Faria, Carlin, +0.866s (session four)
10. Callum Voisin, Carlin, +0.888s (session four)
11. John Bennett, Elite Motorsport, +0.898s (session four)
12. Bryce Aron, Hitech GP, +0.918s (session four)
13. Tom Lebbon, Elite Motorsport, +1.154s (session four)
14. Mikkel Grundtvig, Fortec Motorsport, +1.202s (session four)
15. Cian Shields, Hitech GP, +1.232s (session four)
16. Alex Connor, Arden Motorsport, +1.299s (session three) *
17. Tommy Smith, Douglas Motorsport, +1.885s (session four)
18. David Morales, Arden, +1.963s (session two) **
19. Nick Gilkes, Hillspeed, +2.164s (session four)
20. James Hedley, JHR Developments, +3.019s (session one) ***

* Participated in sessions three and four
** Participated in sessions one and two
*** Only recorded lap times in session one