Legends Moreno and Goossens headline Formula Ford Festival entry

Legends Moreno and Goossens headline Formula Ford Festival entry

19 October 2022

19 October 2022

Formula Ford Festival winners Roberto Moreno and Marc Goossens are amongst the names on a stellar entry list for the 51st edition of the event which takes place at Brands Hatch this weekend (22/23 October). Click here to view the full list, published by the British Racing and Sports Car Club (BRSCC).

Moreno, who won the festival in 1980, is making a second appearance at the event in as many years. The experienced Brazilian, whose career carried him to the F1 podium and race victories in CART, contested last year's meeting in a Van Diemen RF80, with a livery inspired by that he raced with over four decades prior.

At the 2021 Festival, Moreno made it no further than Saturday afternoon's progression races, despite an eye-catching performance at the wheel of an older car. Moreno will this time race behind the wheel of a Ray GR16, prepared by Graham Brunton Racing as he targets a return to the Grand Final on Sunday afternoon.

Goossens, like Moreno, won the Festival during its international heyday, claiming the prestigious prize in 1991. Just as his fellow former winner of the event did 12 months ago, Goossens will now tackle the meeting in a Van Diemen RF80. Goossens is no stranger to Brands Hatch, having regular contested rounds of the NASCAR Whelen Euro Series at the venue in recent years and he'll be hoping that recent experience of the circuit pays dividends.

Other previous winners of the event to look out for at this year's edition of the Festival will include last year's victor Jamie Sharp and Rory Smith who claimed the coveted title in 2020. Two super-fast stars of the modern Formula Ford era, Joey Foster and Niall Murray have both won the event twice, and each of them will be determined to add a third crown this weekend.

This year's Festival will also feature a host of young drivers progressing up the modern junior single-seater ladder. American Max Esterson, who has been a race winner in the GB3 Championship partnered by the BRDC this season, returns to Formula Ford in an attempt to better his second place finish from last year. Former W Series racer Megan Gilkes who has won races in GB4 this year will line up too.

Other hopefuls to look out for will include a trio of entries from the Jeremy Shaw-run Team USA Scholarship, in partnership with Ammonite Motorsport. William Ferguson, Elliott Budzinsky and Thomas Schrage will be hoping to follow in the footsteps of Esterson who impressed last year as well as former Scholarship entrants including Jimmy Vasser and Josef Newgarden.

There is a Team Brazil Scholarship contesting the event for the first time this year too, with Wallace Martins piloting the entry. Another young competitor from the South American nation who could be worth looking out for is Cadu Bonini, who is being coached by his compatriot Moreno.

Additional entrants of note include former BTCC driver and McLaren tester Chris Goodwin, British GT safety car driver Lorna Vickers and BRSCC Chairman Peter Daly.

Tickets for the 51st Formula Ford Festival at Brands Hatch on 22/23 October are available in advance from just £14 until 4pm on Friday with free entry for under-13s. For more information,  click here.